FallOut 3: The Game Guide

It has been a moody Monday so far for me. But towards the end of the day, I received this from playasia and now I feel better. Just slightly better. Its silly since I have yet to get hold of the game but FallOut 3 has been on my must-get games list. Honestly, I was shocked to see this. A total of 467 pages and 65% consisting of text. Between this and the one for LittleBigPlanet, this felt like that game. Gloomy and text text text. Makes you wanna throw something at a random passer by. Unlike the LittleBigPlanet guide, which makes you wanna go out and hug someone. More pictures after the break:

I know that FallOut 3 is a huge game, but I did not expect the guide to be this “heavy” with text. At the back of the guide, it promises a gigantic tour of the Capital Wasteland with over 100 maps showing nearly every area in the game. And if thats not scary enough, notice that little black square on the back cover? Thats the Giant Map Poster included to guide you through the Wasteland! OMG! Now I am worried.

Trust me, this is by far the most graphical page on the entire guide. All the rest are text, tables and maps. And to go with the mood of the game, which is a post apocalyptic Washington – every page is printed on visually seasoned paper.

Here’s an excerpt from the foreword for the guide by Todd Howard, Game Director of FallOut 3. He said ” I’ve had a long love affair with strategy guide and hintbooks for games. I love flipping through them, seeing all the maps and hidden stuff I never knew about. Its like peering into the soul of a game. A look at whats really in it. And I think there are two great ways to experience FallOut 3; one, obviously is to play the game. The next way is the read this book. Pick a chapter or page at random and start reading. I guarantee you’ll see something you didn’t know about.”

3 Responses to “FallOut 3: The Game Guide”


  1. 1 Confused_Dude November 3, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Hey man, remember me? i left comments ages ago on your cod4 map thingy?? i was the one who’d had gta swiped by my mum?? well anyway, i got fallout, and it is amazing, what do you think, and do you know of any particularly amazing things that you can do with dogmeat, oh, and when he dies is he gone forever?

  2. 2 BigMacky November 3, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Confused_Dude

    Yeah I remember you. So how did it go? Did you managed to complete GTA afterall? I didn’t, I stopped after chapter 4 or something. I have yet to get FallOut, but based on my track records, I doubt I will finish it either. Dogmeat? Who dies? I have no idea what are you referring to. If its some stuff from the game, then I must confess – I am a FallOut noob. Will run a quick check on the guide and see if I can get any answers for you. :)

  3. 3 bella4567 June 14, 2010 at 3:33 am

    Well my brothers son has the game Fallout 3 and i have a character on it. It is awesome. Right now my brothers son is on Operation: Anchorage. I saw at the mall at GameStop they had fallout new vegas on preorder.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 721,879 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

