Nintendo Wii: 2.04 Million Sold

wii_nov_2008

In November alone, Nintendo sold 2.04 million units of the Wii while Xbox360 sold 836K units and lastly – the poor old Playstation 3 with 378K units. Bringing a total videogame sales (software, hardware and accessories) to $2.91 billion, a 10 percent year-on-year increase. Looking at such news, makes me mad. Mad at how people are snapping up the Nintendo Wii like hotcakes not realising the Wii experience is nothing but a fad. Go ahead, ask 10  gamers who own all 3 consoles, when was the last time they played with their Nintendo Wii. If they are honest, I think most of them can’t recall when. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t hate the Wii. I think its innovative and all – but people go in with the wrong idea. After you run out of the wow and oooh with the motion detection controllers – you will see, a strong game library is key.

4 Responses to “Nintendo Wii: 2.04 Million Sold”


  1. 1 virtualess December 12, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    My cousin brother sold off his Wii but I have a friend and relatives who like it. Well, I bet my hard earned $ on PS3 because if the games do not work out well, it is a good AV device, still. I supposed there could be no repeat owners of Wii but there would be a lot of new ppl who are easily attracted by it. Sorry to say this – well, maybe not – I am not truly a video gamer and I doubt not many will be and hence, consoles are expensive most of the time. That’s why I prefer to get a PS3 because it does more than games….And going back to LBP again, it is still GREAT fun especially when someone you know started creating games….

  2. 2 BigMacky December 13, 2008 at 7:42 am

    virtualess

    Lately, I am having more and more love for my Xbox360. But I do agree, if you’re only getting one console – PS3 is the best choice. Online play for free, built-in Blu-ray player, built-in wireless (yeah, Xbox360 doesn’t have this – you can’t go online without getting additional wifi adapter or using cable). But whats really pissing me off lately with the PS3 is the firmware updates which seems to have screwed up the online experience.

    Actually, you’re SO in the Nintendo Wii target group – Casual gamer. But thank goodness you opted for a Playstation 3 instead of the Wii.

    LittleBigPlanet. I have not touched that game for a very long time. But I did play every single level though. Just didn’t spend time to collect 100% of items.

  3. 3 Justy December 13, 2008 at 8:27 am

    PS3 can come across intimidating for casual gamers, “too tough”. Wii is like a snap shot camera and PS3 like a DSLR.

  4. 4 BigMacky December 13, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Justy

    I don’t hate the Wii. It really changed the gaming industry and when everyone was going for HD visuals – they stood firm with standard 480p visuals but introduced a whole new gaming experience. Kudos to them. What I hate is WHY people are getting a Wii for. The Ooooohs and the aaaahs of the Wii mote. Guess I am just pissed off by the fact that with all these focus on casual gamers – the game quality will deteriorate. Take a look at the games for Wii and DS, how many games out there right now has the same quality as Super Mario Galaxy? How many nintendogs wannabe do you want to see? Pet Hotel. Pet Friends. Pet Buddy. Pet Fish. Pet Furry Friends. Pet Animal Hospital. See my point? Thats what I am pissed about. Its how it will eventually affect the quality of games.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,345 hits

