Great Chinese New Year

cody_cny_2009

Just got back from my hometown minutes ago and it has been a great Chinese New Year. Lots of family members, great food and best friends – not forgetting CoDy. He’s still the baby of the family and everyone showered him with so much love. With the Canon EOS 50D, I managed to take quite a number of good family photos and it has been a really worthwhile investment. Every shot is priceless. Got some nice portraits of my mom and dad, sisters, brother and friends. CoDy said woof woof to everyone. (Translation: More photos after the break)

cody_cny_2009_2

cody_cny_2009_3

8 Responses to “Great Chinese New Year”


  1. 1 vicky January 28, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Good morning!!!! wow.!!!! ur baby looks so handsome lah….. or is it because of the camera ?????Β  πŸ˜‰ NO..!!!! cos of the person behind the camera lah….. πŸ˜‰ Really happy u enjoyed the new year…so hope to see uΒ  and ed more often for other celeberations… Happy working at ur new job… GONG XI FA CHAI !!!!!

  2. 2 BigMacky January 28, 2009 at 11:30 am

    vicky

    Yup. CoDy is getting bigger and more handsome each day. I am so sleepy now, everyone is still enjoying Chinese New Year and I am in the office. Sucks! The traffic in KL this morning was smooth. Felt like driving to work on a Sunday.

  3. 3 virtualess January 28, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    I told you so – you will not and never regret. It is better than all the consoles……

    I was awed by the performance of L Lens with 5D Mark 2. It is great! Videography on this machine opens a new territory all together for an ignorant soul like me….

    No regrets at all!

  4. 4 BigMacky January 28, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    WK

    Canon 5D Mark II with a L Lens! I want to see the results! Show me! Show me! Show me!

  5. 5 virtualess January 28, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    OK will email you one photo of the kids playing PSP. The shots are impressive (by the camera, not me). I have nothing to complain. Nothing fancy but it is just so beaut….. check your mail later (I m working late and 2morrow will b leaving for Langkawi)

    Some thoughts on 5D Mark 2:

    1) Liveview is complementary stuff except for Video
    2) Battery life still horrible – new battery stock will only arrive 2 weeks later and I will check if my original battery is problematic by then. I have checked with Canon 2day the body is OK.
    3) The new UI on 50D and 5D is wonderful. GREAT, to be exact.
    4) Video shooting….. too good to be true. It makes you feel like you should take lots of short creative and meaningful video shots of your family members. Imagine all your great photos become a continuous stream of movie all in perfect exposure but not 100% focused.
    5) You will need and want L lens on this Mark 2 guy – you need to manual focus anytime when you shoot video, and the machine, according to a few reviews, is so good that it will display the shortcomings of most lens.
    6) Auto focus is so – so. I agree, 40D or 50D should have faster autofocus. But I could live with it.
    7) the end….

  6. 6 BigMacky January 28, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    virtualess

    Oh so your CNY holidays will only be starting tomorrow. How nice! I’ve never really used a EOS 40D before, so I will never know how much of an improvement the User Interface is. But I do like the one on the 50D as I find it very intuitive. I am totally convinced that the camera and lens play such an important role in producing fantastic images. When I took the first shot for my parents, I was blown away by the highlight and shadows on their faces. I was so hyped that I sat everyone down as my model. The result, some of the best family portraits taken outside a photo studio. I love the 50mm lens. Its just so freaking amazing. With your Canon EOS Mark II and a L lens … I can only imagine how great your photos will be. Can’t wait to see some of them.

    Battery wise, my 50D is alright. No complaints there. Maybe because I don’t take videos with it just as you did with your Mark II. Wait a sec, not even sure if 50D can take videos. (Mental note: read the freaking manual) Thats the thing, when I travel, I have my Sanyo Xacti (videos at 1080i), so I had to juggle between a video camera and a digital camera. I enjoy video. I love re-watching the whole trip on top of just photos.

    Will be checking my email account soon. Thanks.

  7. 7 virtualess January 29, 2009 at 1:04 am

    check ur mail. happy shooting….

  8. 8 Niacin January 29, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    cute! beautiful puppy!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,452 hits

