Ip Man: The Movie

ipman_header

I am never a fan of KungFu movies. Especially those featuring JetLi or Jacky Chan. Thats why I never paid much attention to this movie when it came out. I heard a lot of good reviews from friends and even my Indian Barber. So, couple of nights ago, I finally gave in and watched it. Surprisingly, I enjoyed it so much that I am getting the Blu-ray. If you still haven’t seen it, please give it a go. Its rare to see a good Chinese movies these days – so, its a gem.

5 Responses to “Ip Man: The Movie”


  1. 1 virtualess February 24, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Hi AL,

    Will certainly take your recommendation – will try watch it.

    Me going to Taiwan and might be shopping for BRay disks (they are cheaper esp with certain promotion – i paid RM 80+ per Disc for Spider Man set). If you want something do let me know (I am eying UDMA / Xtreme 4 CF cards – lowest I asked is 370 for 8GB in Mid Valley). Well, do let me know whatever you need and if I happen to find it I will get it for you.

    Will mail a few interesting photos to you later (your gmail).

  2. 2 BigMacky February 24, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    WK

    Taiwan. Hmmmm. Not sure what I want from there. But will look through my ‘wants’ list. So you’re heading there for work? Or to pay your respect to your Master? Thanks for offering to help get stuff. You are getting very good with this ‘Sales’ push thing. RESPECT!

  3. 3 virtualess February 24, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    AL,

    It is for biz,and I took the opp to go to the mountain to pay respect (this is hard, because he left no tomb at all, and the ashes, together with all his relics(colorful), are crushed into powder and planted in the first-ash-burial-memorial garden of Taiwan. It is an environmental burial idea promoted by Shifu, first in Taiwan, and perhaps in Chinese community world wide. So when I get there, I don’t really know where his ashes are, it is split into 5 bags and planted by 15 people, including the president and the vice president of Taiwan). There is no religious treatment in this paying respect – we are asked to refrain from this even though he is acknowledged as an international Chan / Zen Master and accordingly, the lineage holder of the first Chan / Zen Patriarch in China – Bodhidharma who made Shao Lin Temple famous. Jet Li is also his student.

    So it will be a spiritual trip where I will be in a a silence retreat as well – doing some volunteer work serving other people there. The only gadget time I have for myself is perhaps shooting photos after the retreat (3 days).

    Maybe I should get you a book now that you are interested in Kung Fu. Shifu has some interesting stories in the States about Kung Fu – you want please let me know. will be a gift from me to a blogger friend.

  4. 4 BigMacky February 24, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    WK

    KungFu? No no no no. No disrespect to anyone but I really don’t like KungFu that much. You give me a KungFu flick and a romantic comedy starring Meg Ryan, I’m with Meg. But thanks for your kind gesture though, so nice and kind of you.

    I’ve been to Taipei twice, I never really got myself anything from there other than memories. Some bitter, but mostly sweet. And I don’t think I wish to visit Taipei again – avoid having those “mostly sweet” memories turn bitter.

    I hope you will have a great trip there and find whatever you are looking for, spiritually or otherwise.

    Gmail is being a bitch at the moment. Can’t seems to login. Will try again later. Can’t wait to see what you’ve taken with your Mark II.

  5. 5 virtualess February 24, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Yes, Gmail flunked a while ago.

    No it is not real kung fu, it is more on Buddhism in action in States.

    Ohoh, do I read some romance in Taipei……

    Yes, it will be a great trip. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 732,971 hits

