Old Biscuits

sao

If you can hum to Depeche Mode’s “People Are People” or “Strangelove”, chances are you an old biscuit like me. Born in the late 60s early 70s and had your first Sony walkman with a self-recorded mix-tape labelled “My selection is your listening pleasure” on both side-A and side-B of a seasoned TDK cassette which previously had Boy George singing Karma-karma-karma Chameleon. This weekend, I suddenly felt old. Firstly, it was the new bunch of grey hair I found on my  fringe. About 8 of them. I swear they were not there 2 weeks ago! Secondly, I’ve signed up for a Retirement Plan. Its true about what they say – with only your EPF and the little-to-no savings, the old age is really a very scary time and place. Even if you’re a business man today and doing fine – what guarantees do you have in the future? If a corporation like AIG can topple and fall in the US, how much more vulnerable would you be? Are you ready for it? Honestly, I am not sure that I am. But I know I can’t continue to sweep my ignorance under the carpet much longer. Of course, what if I don’t make it to my old age? I’d rather be prepared in case I do.

2 Responses to “Old Biscuits”


  1. 1 zirconic March 2, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Each time I think of old age, it really scares me too. Being old, alone and weak….

  2. 2 Schidz March 2, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    I certainly agree with your point of view. This is truly a big social problem for any country.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,759 hits

