iPhone: Copy And Paste

3-17-09paste

As posted by folks at engadget.com, Apple iPhone OS 3.0 will finally be introducing Copy & Paste functionality. Ironic isn’t it? The most advance mobile phone in the world lacking the most basic feature. While you’re at it, Apple, please don’t forget the Forward SMS as well.

9 Responses to “iPhone: Copy And Paste”


  1. 1 virtualess March 19, 2009 at 12:56 am

    yes yes yes….. once they get this right I will be tempted to get one, when Maxis starts to lower their fees…. it is downright ARROGANT for NOT providing an unlimited data package plan.

  2. 2 virtualess March 19, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Oh, I m donwloading MSG 4 on iPod touch!!!!! Admit it I am a FAN of snake…. :0) I will be testing it 2morrow while in Singapore. BTW, I learnt that lens in Singapore seems to be cheaper than that in Malaysia (because lens are NOT 100% duty free in Malaysia). I will let you know and because of lens desire, I will now postpone my Mac upgrade. Actually, I don’t LIKE the new Mac cause 24″ screen is JUST TOO BIG and all of them come with glossy screens. Apple should provide more choices. I am even thinking of getting the Mac mini but the value proposition is so not attractive….

  3. 3 BigMacky March 19, 2009 at 6:34 am

    WK

    Screw Maxis. Just get an iPhone from seasoned iPhone sellers at lowyat.net. Units are brand new and from Singapore with official receipt from SingTel. 8Gb selling for RM2430 and RM2750 for 16Gb. Go here:

    http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=72&t=803705

    But … the iPhone OS 3.0 will only be released in the summer. And thats the exact time of which the rumored iPhone 2 will be released. So, as with all Apple product launches, its still a hush hush for the time being.

    A lens over a new iMac! You’re insane! The 24″ iMac is perfect. When you get over the fact that its big, you will learn to appreciate the extra desktop real estate while photo editing or multi-tasking. I have no qualms about the 24″ iMac other than …. wait a sec ,,,, nothing!

    For lenses and cameras, the best place to hunt in Singapore is the building between Capitol Cinema and Peninsular Plaza. Suddenly I can’t recall the name of the building. Its located across City Hall MRT Station. Enjoy your trip.

    Downloading MGS Touch now … 🙂

  4. 4 virtualess March 20, 2009 at 12:25 am

    Hallo

    I just got back in a piece from Singapore and this is what I wish to share with you:

    1) you save around 25%++ for lens if you were to shop around correctly at Sim Lim Square.
    2) The location you mentioned could be Funnan Plaza, a place I used to get all my PS3 games and PSP games. Incl, Uncharted, MGS4 etc before they are sold in Malaysia
    3) Be careful when you shop at Sim Lim Square. An innocent looking guy like me nearly got con by 2 stores. B#$#$ H##$#$# but I manage to save 600 – 700 RM for a great 100mm F2.8 Macro Lens
    4) When you shoot this lens with F2.8 with the 5DM2, focusing speed suddenly gets A LOT betterrrrrrrr. I luv it.
    5) OK OK 24″ Mac? Maybe later. I spent too much already and my biz is beginning to feel the pain….
    6) I got excited with MGS4 on iPod touch really – call me stupid but I enjoyed going through the stupid game on the iPod touch.
    7) I certainly am SOLD – iPhone is going to be something I see myself luving in the future. But I will wait for the new version, at least 32GB (I have so little GB left believe me), and faster processing speed. Right now the Touch has better speed.
    8) Please try Air Sharing – it is a great program, though a little slow at times. I can probably live without my notebook when I go around town with this little thing now. The way Apple did their UI to display excel sheets with simple pinching etc is just SOOOO amazing – sharp, clear and I think I am ending my search for a practical PDA. In the past I tried everything, even the Nokia brick can’t cope.

    That brings me to this – Microsoft is no longer creative. They are basically followers. They might succeed but it is with sheer force.

    Now I regret getting all my Lens earlier from Malaysia, but then, I don’t go Singapore that often.

    So advice my friend – consider getting the lens from Singapore. Or Hong Kong, or even Taiwan.

  5. 5 BigMacky March 20, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    WK

    Nope. No more lenses for me. I am not exactly a camera-fever kinda guy. It took me so many years to finally decide to get the Canon camera. I doubt I will be a lens hunter. (fingers crossed)

    More consoles, yes. New Nintendo DSi, yes. New iPhone 2, yes. But definitely not new lenses or a new camera for a very long time. I am happy with my Canon 50D and the photos I took with it. It served my purpose, and I think my journey for a good camera ends here. I can see myself using the Canon 50D for at least a couple of years. Just like the iPhone, I’ve been using it since it came out – and I still don’t see a need for a new phone, unless its a newer and better iPhone.

    Same goes for my 24″ iMac. Love it to bits. No matter if Apple releases a newer, better looking iMac with faster processor – what I have is good enough for my needs. Trust me on this, bite the bullet and get the 24″ and don’t make the same mistake like I did by getting the 20″ and selling it off after 1 month. Its really the best and well rounded home-usage personal computer out there.

    I am using the latest HP Intel Core 2 Quad with a 24″ Monitor at work – I’d still prefer my iMac at home anytime. Somehow, using Windows XP just felt wrong.

    Downloaded Metal Gear Solid Touch, but haven’t had time to really play it. Spend 3 minutes with the tutorial and switched it off and went on to doing something else instead.

  6. 6 virtualess March 20, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Wa you made me feel guilty….:-(

    I am infected with the L disease, so to speak.

    Not so on the Mac yet – but thanks for your advice, I hear it LOUD and clear. Between the Mac and the Lens, I push my priority to the source of good pictures – Lens first, then brush up my skills further.

    The 100mm f2.8 Macro Lens is good for Macro and also Portrait, and at f2.8, it works nicely. I am going to try put up some photos comparing this and the L lens later, if I have time. Will let you know.

    I love the iPod touch because it is essentially by personal playground – all my photos, music, movies and games in one. Could not fault Apple at all on this. MGS on iPod is NOT that great but it is fun for me…

    I am beginning to learn the art of gadget from you – I was too greedy moving from a simple Canon Point and Shoot Digital (I was then on SLR) then to 300 then quickly to 40D then now 5DM2. I supposed because I had been spoilt by SLR qualities before – only a FF unit matches the original analog SLR, IMHO.

  7. 7 BigMacky March 21, 2009 at 8:36 am

    WK

    Guilty? Hahahaha. I doubt it. That’s one emotion we gadget freaks lack. 🙂

  8. 8 virtualess March 21, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Hi BM,

    Have you visited Rolandlim@wordpress? He is a good source of info / ideas on all things about Canon DSLR. I learnt quite a lot of things from him.

    I am beginning to appreciate the good things about the 100mm Marco lens. Certain reviews state that it should have an L on it, and after comparing some simple shots, it does show. It is indeed a VERY good lens.

    Macro will make you look at things ‘deeply’ in a way.

    Oh so much about Photography – in life we have so much to play and learn, this and that, but we also have to learn how to let go and die nice nice!

    Got a question – all the appstores / itune music purchases can be shared with more than 1 iPod. I wonder if they can be shared with iPhone by Maxis. What do you think/

    Another question – if there are 2 Macs, we can certainly authorize them to work with 5 iPods each (matter of authorize them etc). What is the best way to allow both of them to centrally access all the photos / music files? I know this sound stupid but still wish to ask – using Airdisk via Airport Extreme + Ext HD might do the trick. Have you ever tried?

    Enjoy the clear sky lines! Even when all things human are nasty (economy, stupid politicians @#$%$) the sky lines are very clear these few weeks. Shoot the sky, enjoy the clouds!

  9. 9 BigMacky March 21, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    WK

    Your iPhone Maxis question, I don’t think its carrier dependent. Just region dependent. With our credits, we can only download from US Apps Store. But if you not referring to purchasing from iTunes, but sharing – I don’t think there should be any problem either. Because iTunes will just recognize your iPod / iPhone as just another Apple device. Correct me if I am wrong. Then again, I have not played with the iPhone from Maxis, so I am unsure if they implemented any software restriction on it.

    For your 2nd question, check out Apple’s Time Capsule. If you wish to have a cheaper alternative, just get an external HDD with networking capabilities. I am not really a technical guy … so Apple’s Time Capsule is a no brainer solution for people like me.

    Yeah, I was surprised how clear the skies were these few days. When I touched down from Bangkok the other day, the sunset around Cyberjaya was beautiful. Too bad I was in my sister’s car, else – I’ll definitely stop and take some photos.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,345 hits

