Eason Chan: H3M

easonh3m

When I first saw this album cover, I thought it was a Japanese album. Hong Kong singer Eason Chan unleashes upon us his latest musical experiment – the Cantonese album H3M, a collaboration with his trusty tour band, with whom he has worked together for over a year. The H3M band is made up of Eason and nine other musicians including C.Y. Kong, Joey Tang, Pat Lui, and Anthony Sun. Each H3M member brings a song to this album, such as the first plug Allegro Opus 3.3am by Gary Tong, “700 Years Later” by Jim Lau, “Guilty Conscience” by Pam Chung, “What Else Can I Give You” by Davy Chan, and “The Sun Also Rises” by Yin Wong. Eason himself showcases his composing flair in the closing track “Salon” penned by lyricist Wyman Wong. Album will be released on 23rd March 2009. So looking forward to it. I know its gonna sound ultra weird – it is afterall, an experimental album.

13 Responses to “Eason Chan: H3M”


  1. 1 Justy March 21, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Wah!!!! Very good minimal cover leh!!

  2. 2 BigMacky March 21, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    Justy

    Exactly my thoughts! I am so looking forward to it. So sick and tired of the same cookie-cutter sound of Andy Lau, Jacky Cheung and other so called heavenly old biscuits …

  3. 3 Evelyn March 23, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    !!!!!Congratulation!!!!!
    EASON CHAN NEWEST ALBUM.
    ~H3M~

    I will continues to support you…by listening ur songs,HAHA…

  4. 4 Justy March 24, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Er… checked out the album. Conventional HK pop album wor… *sigh

  5. 5 BigMacky March 24, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    Justy

    Really? The first single was quite promising wor. Were you expecting something like Bjork or Portishead? HK music scene hardly got “Catch Ghost” music one la although ChengBeng is near.

  6. 6 BigMacky March 24, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Evelyn

    Wow! We’ve got a superfan in our midst! Make sure you support by buying and not downloading. Cuz you’re a superfan.

  7. 7 Justy March 24, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Sei Low!! You “yan sun gong gek” me ah?

    No lah, very conventional stuff lor. I would say “Listen to Eason” is a lot more adventurous musically. To be frank I think Taiwanese music 10 times better than HK music especially the last decade.

  8. 8 BigMacky March 24, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Justy

    Just listened to it. Yeah, agree. Other than the first single “Allegro, Opus 3.3 a.m.” – the rest of the album is just like his other albums. Nothing experimental about it at all. Oh well, great creative direction for the album cover, usual style musically.

    For comparison, I think Bobby Chen’s latest album is a much more daring adventure compared to this.

  9. 9 Justy March 24, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    Yeah! Bobby Chen’s 1st track already seized all attention with the Peking Opera vocal. But there were some difficult tracks to sit through too.

    I recommend Stanley Huang’s 黄立行 new album “最后只好躺下來” (I can only lie down).

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XETf0MIC98 (my fav track of the album)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ag-S_e0jE9U (pretty good upbeat singles)

  10. 10 BigMacky March 24, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    Justy

    Listening to the first track. Not melancholy enough. Too upbeat. Its ChengBeng season, I expected something more “Catch Ghost” from you! Come on!

  11. 11 Justy March 24, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Been feeling kinda upbeat and one of my favourite song is this


    and this

    How can I be not upbeat?

  12. 12 BigMacky March 24, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    Justy

    I was so worried that after I clicked the link, I will hear Sonia singing “You’ll never stop me from loving you …” Phewwwwwwwww! Ok la, upbeat, a bit “Ah-beng-ish” lor. Like those irritating ringtones I hear in Sg Wang.

  13. 13 Justy March 24, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    Hey hey hey! Now don’t dis Sonia, I still listen to her on my iPod ok?! VIVA SONIA FOREVER!!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,437 hits

