iPhone: Full Screen Web Browser

iphonewebbrowser

I use the Safari web browser a lot on my iPhone. The only thing that I didn’t like about it was its permanent address bar and navigation button which reduces actual viewable space. Downloaded a US$0.99 app called Full Screen Web Browser (duh) by Eric James and it works perfectly. You’ll get 25% and 40% more viewable space in portrait and landscape mode respectively. The one thing which I didn’t like about it, was that you gotta shake your iPhone to reveal the address bar when its in Full Screen mode. I don’t get why apps these days like to have the shake feature. Its just so kiddy. A gentle tap would suffice. Other than that, great app.

4 Responses to “iPhone: Full Screen Web Browser”


  1. 1 virtualess March 23, 2009 at 12:01 am

    I am actually hoping that there is something like what Nokia has on their phone and web browser – in mobile mode, where the text in paragraphs resize auto to fit the screen but you STILL can change the font size and fit the screen.

    What I mean is this – in iPod / iPhone now, tabbing on certain text will resize the whole paragraph to fit the screen, but you CAN’t change the font.

    If you can change in font size (Larger normally) and then Safari resizes the whole text to fit in the szme screen, that will be PEEEEERFECT.

    On the Nokia brick, this is wonderfully done, but then again, you can’t swipe your finger / pinch the screen to resize like iPod….

    I am not sure if this can be done on Safari mobile. I think this is possible on PS3 browser (it is SOOOOO SLOW but still workable)

  2. 2 BigMacky March 23, 2009 at 6:51 am

    WK

    The best web browser on a console, surprisingly is on the Nintendo Wii. It does what you said effortlessly. Pressing + or – on the Wiimote will increase and decrease the font size – in real time without much lag. Sony should really learn from Nintendo on this. Their HOME is pretty much useless and no one is using it. I’ve said it then and I’ll say it again – HOME is lame.

    About this App on the iPhone, I wish they would release an update that will mirror Safari’s Bookmarks instead of having to re-enter one-by-one. That sucks.

  3. 3 virtualess March 23, 2009 at 10:28 am

    You know, after reading your blog I went off and bought that .99 cents software and after that – argh, no smart import of Safari bookmarks!

    I m using Google on my PC (chrome etc) and I wish someone could do a universal bookmark synch among all browser. I won’t mind paying 0.99cents or 1.99cents a year to get that kind of service. It saves our time and make our life more meaningful with computers instead of having to do manual work. Crazy.

  4. 4 BigMacky March 23, 2009 at 10:57 am

    WK

    Hahaha. Guess you must have bought the App before my previous reply where I mentioned about that particular flaw. But you are using “monopoly money” anyway, so let’s just hope that a new update will rectify that.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,728 hits

