Irregardless vs. Regardless

webster_word

Today, I was having a short debate over this word with my Boss whom I respect and admire … ahem ahem! (compulsory ass kissing in-progress). As he was reading through a paper I’ve prepared, he said “are you aware that irregardless is not a word?”. I wouldn’t say that my command of English is exceptional, but I think I’ve heard and seen that word being used frequent enough. I replied, “really ..?” Took out my iPhone, tapped on my Oxford Dictionary application and searched for the word. There it was! The word irregardless. I proudly shove it up his face saying, “Nah … it’s here in my Oxford dictionary”. Being the 2nd man in a multi-national company. Self confidence is not a problem for him. He calmly replied with a smile, “Nope – it’s not a word. The proper word should just be Regardless”. As I continue to read the explanation for the word in my US$14.99 iPhone app – it says: Irregardless, with its illogical negative prefix, widely heard, perhaps arising under the influence of such perfectly correct forms as irrespective. Irregardless is avoided by careful users of English. Use regardless instead. Damn! Moral of the story: never challenge the one who pays your salary and determines your bonus regardless of how or what you think it’s right. There is a reason why he is your Boss!

10 Responses to “Irregardless vs. Regardless”


  1. 1 vicky April 21, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    ha ha ha ha!!! 😉 better check and double check ur work before u see ur boss…. ;-)… take care…

  2. 2 virtualess (again) April 21, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    BM,

    YOUR BEST POST OF THE YEAR!

    I ran a check on my FREE Dic on my iPod (Dictionary.com) and well well I am also trapped!

    Your boss very keng! Must be very English!

  3. 3 BigMacky April 21, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    Vicky

    Lesson learned. Never doubt your Boss. Unless he is clearly an idiot.

  4. 4 BigMacky April 21, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    WK

    Yeah. My Boss damn keng. He has very sharp eyes for typos too. During a previous meeting, a business associate interrupted our discussion and handed him his new business card. Just one glance, he told that guy he has a typo on his card. And true enough. He was right.

    That’s why. I would usually check and recheck my papers before seeing him. But in this case, I was adamant that I was right as we’ve seen and heard that word used so frequently.

    But he is a very calm and composed gentleman. Unlike me. Who would shove an iPhone to his boss’s face with stupidity which was mistaken as pride and victory. +1 point to Boss. -1 point for BigMacky.

  5. 5 virtualess (again) April 21, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    Hi BM,

    I read a related ad from mac city today and here it says: –

    Unleash your utmost creativity with Adobe CS4 Design Premium Full Pack (Student Edition)
    – InDesign
    – Photoshop Extended
    – Illustrator
    – Flash Pro
    – Acrobat 9 Pro
    – Dreamweaver
    – Fireworks
    RM399

    Cheap or not? Worth buying? I plan to learn Photoshop, and I think this package is cheaper than Photoshop alone but i am not sure so I have to consult my gadget guru friend.

    Aiya, sending email to you slow la, so I post here first!

  6. 6 BigMacky April 21, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    WK

    Hahaha. I am eying on it as well. But I am waiting for the shop to get me a Student ID. It seems Apple is very strict on that. No ID, no CS4 Student Pack. Cheap or not? Are you kidding me? Adobe CS4 Design Premium is retailing for RM6,999! If you can get a set, don’t blink! Just grab it.

  7. 7 virtualess April 21, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Yes yes! I called them and then arranged with my good friend for an ID faxed to my office went back for quick dinner with family and then sped off to Cineleisure to purchase the thing!

    Please check your gmail.

    Aiya, one more thing – is it normal to have my iMac CPU B running at a heaty 50deg C when start up and now >70deg C? Fan does not blow anymore after a short run during start up. Bit strange – when start up the temp goes up to 50deg C when CPU A is half of that. Strange as I have never hear my old iMac fan working so ‘loudly’.

    I got all these info from the widget ministat 2

  8. 8 BigMacky April 21, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    WK

    Checked mail. Envious! I am so gonna call my contact tomorrow for that damn student ID! About your iMac, mine doesn’t seem to have that problem. But I do find that on certain days, its hotter than usual. How bout hooking me up with a damn student ID? Huhuhuhu …..

  9. 9 Nat April 22, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    That is quite a funny story. Irregardless is use in todays english but it is not proper english it is more of a modern day word that has become so common that it has found a place in the dictionary. I guess only perdantic people who are meticulous in their english and literature would pick up on it. Having a boss who picks up on typos and grammar structure is actually an added bonus to your employment. My second boss is like that which is really good because i’ll give him any correspondence that i’ve done or essays and he’ll pick them up for me and i’ll go change it one less job for me. My big boss and my second boss call me the BOSS! :p so in other words because i am so meticulous in my job my boss’ listen to me! majority of the time anyways.

  10. 10 BigMacky April 23, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Nat

    Your Boss listens to you?! Wow! That’s nice. I’ll send in my request later to Human Resource for a Boss that listens, hope they still have em’ in stock.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,436 hits

