Running Mac OSX On A Dell

When I first saw this, wild ideas flooded my head. Then I noticed the video was dated 2008. Man! You mean people have been doing this for a year? It seems that this only works on Dell Mini 9 which is currently obsolete and replaced by the newer Dell Mini 10 available online for RM1,399. Damn! Damn! Damn! For a good article on this mod, click here.

4 Responses to “Running Mac OSX On A Dell”


  1. 1 virtualess July 12, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Hi Gadget Deva (God),

    I have a silly stupid deal to propose – me stupid, I think, where I wish to let go of my newly bought 15″ Mac Book Pro (the one just before the new ones are launched) which I paid >10K (with 3 years warranty) with anyone who will pay me or buy me a new 13″ Mac Book Pro 2.53GHz with at least 500GB harddisk and some access + 3 year warranty all add up to close to RM 7,500.00.

    Yes, buy a 1 month old plus Mac Book Pro 15″ (only the new Mac Book 5.8GHz runs faster than this guy)before the new ones are launched and I need the battery life more than anything else.

    You got any buyer? Please let me know! Good karma!

  2. 2 BigMacky July 12, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    WK

    Hmmmmm, I think your best bet would still be lowyat.net. I helped Ed’s brother sold off his Sony Vaio P in 2 days at a reasonably good price too. Just take a couple of photos, post it up here:

    http://forum.lowyat.net/NotebooksPDAs&Cameras

    I’m sure you have your reasons. But I am eyeing the 13″ too. A friend of mine got it after selling off his older white MacBook. But something tells me to hold out just a little longer for the rumored MacBook Tablet / Netbook or whatever Apple wish to call it.

  3. 3 virtualess July 13, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Dear Gadget Guru,

    Here is my virgin post – http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1094583

    I actually cant’ live with only 3 hours battery life. For long I have been working with notebooks that has more than 3 hours to even 11 hours (Sony Vaio) battery life, and the 7 hours max of 13″MBP is really practical for me….. the current unit runs max up to 3 to 4 hours of normal use. Also the size – i am dreaming of taking my 5D M2 in a bag with the 13″ MBP. That will be useful.

    Keep in touch. Life can be a mess out there.

  4. 4 bola August 30, 2009 at 12:35 am

    actually it is possible on a variety of netbooks. depending on the chipset choice of each company.

    boing boing keeps updating the hackintosh compatibility netbook list here: http://gadgets.boingboing.net/2008/12/17/osx-netbook-compatib.html

    as you can see the dell mini 10 doesnt work with OSX86, which by the way has been removed from dell.com.my. the dell mini10v which goes for RM1399 is your best bet now. the lenovo S10 is pretty good to for the same price but being phased out with the S10-2


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 732,959 hits

