iPhone 3GS: Pre-Ordered

hero3gs

I’ve been indecisive on whether I should be getting the iPhone 3Gs or try out my first Android handphone in the form of a HTC Hero. All the logical reasons direct me towards getting the iPhone but the gadget roadkill-spirit in me kept prompting me to wait and check out the HTC Hero instead. The thing with HTC Hero is better specs – but it’s still at its infancy compared to a 2-year old iPhone. With a strong App Store crossing 1.5 billion downloads in just a year is a clear indication of its industry support. HTC Hero is a good start. But the problem with 1st gen product (Hero, is the first Android phone with the Sense UI) – it’s always a learning curve and having room for improvements. My hunch tells me to go with the iPhone 3GS for a year – till my contract with Maxis expires. Maybe by then – a better HTC Hero-istic phone will emerge and I can finally adopt the Android operating system. The fact that Maxis priced the 32Gb iPhone 3Gs at par with the price of a 16Gb iPhone 3G before today’s announcement is a great motivation for me to get the iPhone. I’ve pre-ordered. Am supposed to pay a non-refundable deposit and collect my 32Gb white iPhone 3Gs on 31st July 2009. I think I am making the right choice. Or am I?

6 Responses to “iPhone 3GS: Pre-Ordered”


  1. 1 vicky July 16, 2009 at 11:49 am

    hello…;-) so…u going to sell me Ed’s phone or not ??? he he he he!!!! πŸ˜‰

  2. 2 BigMacky July 16, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    Vicky

    You are so out la. Have u not heard from your daughter? She wants to upgrade to the new iPhone 3GS and pass her 16Gb iPhone to the brother. So you don’t need to buy my unit.

  3. 3 vicky July 17, 2009 at 9:52 am

    oh…she mentioned it to her father…but the father asked her why she wants to upgrade… ;-)and she says …errr..never mind 😦 so..i thought that was it loh…. πŸ˜‰ its ok …just asking u only…;-)

  4. 4 virtualess July 17, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Hi BigMacky,

    Is editing a blog say on WordPress easy going and practical on iPod/iPhone?

    Aiya, still no buyer for my MBP 15″, I am going to lelong soon!!! hahaha!

    NO kidding, if anyone is willing to buy me the 13″ MBP (higher spec) with extended warranty and upgrade to 320GB HD, I am willing to swap mine with them. I have been enjoying working with small NB (12″ screens – my best one is IBM X40, more than 4 years old I still keep it and LOVE the keyboard and portability) but battery life now sucks (1 plus hour gone). Having 3 to 4 hours on a NB like MBP 15″ is not really that practical – I could be sitting in the cafe/hotel/plane alone for long hours typing and tinkering with ideas….. and then move on..so a small 13″ MBP is so damn dream-like-sexy-practical for me.

    Just got my license for Abode CS4! Will be learning to use it. But I think I still need lightroom to manage my files better – you know of anyplace to buy cheap or pirated lightroom? wow, bad ethics!

  5. 5 BigMacky July 17, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Vicky

    Hahaha. I can imagine her saying that to her dad. A typical response from her to a losing argument. In case u are wondering, though I have pre-ordered the new iPhone, I have till Monday to pay my non-refundable deposit to seal the deal. And as of now, I am still undecided. The thing is not about the phone. It’s the damn Maxis contract that I don’t like. Hate being tied down just for a slightly subsidized phone. And been still reading up a lot on the HTC Hero. Still very tempted to go with that. Wish I can say “Oh nevermind” …. But I can’t. It’s driving me nutz!

  6. 6 BigMacky July 17, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    WK

    there is a WordPress App for the iPhone / iPod Touch. So blogging on it is kinda ok. You can attach photo, save as draft etc. But I don’t like it. Maybe I need to spend a little more time with it. But the few times that I tried posting image attachment to what I was blogging, it just displayed a thumbnail instead of the full image. So maybe there are some settings somewhere that I can tweak with.

    Sorry to hear about your MBP. Did u go bump the page on a daily basis? Else your post will be buried so deep down that no one will notice it. As a thread started, you are allowed to bump (bring post up) once a day. I took a look, and it showed not many people actually looked at the post based on page counts. I would suggest u take better pictures, better lighting, better angle. Rather than what’s currently displayed that looks like something taken with a handphone camera. Afterall, u own a bloody Canon 5D Mark II for goodness sakes!!!!! I would also suggest putting a pricing on the sub header or brand spanking new MBP for sale or trade. Pics included. People just love pics.

    And being a new member. People are weary that it might be a con case. So elaborate more on why you wish to trade or sell. Mention something like No Obligation viewing to appreciate. Afterall, it’s not RM700. Give them assurance that you are genuine in selling or trade. Also good to mention that the unit has no flaws or defects, dead pixels etc.

    Do they still sell pirated softwares? (acting innocent) A little bird tells me Subang Summit. But I have no ideas what and where that is and what’s there. (acting blur now).


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,335 hits

