Sony Vaio W

sonyvaiow-1

Got back from LowYat plaza a moment ago. Just browsing, not looking for anything in particular. Came across Sony’s entry to the netbook market, Sony Viao W. It packs an Intel Atom N280 CPU 1.66GHz processor, 1GB of memory, 160GB hard disk, WiFi, Bluetooth and most importantly, a high-resolution 10.1″ LED backlit display with a 1366 x 768-resolution instead of the standard 1024 x 600 by cheaper alternatives. More info & photos after the break:

sonyvaiow-2

You get so much more screen real estate with that. I really can’t stand those from Dell or HP. Everything seemed so cramped. For RM1,999 against other netbooks retailing between RM1,399 to RM1,499 – I’ll gladly pay for that little extra for a premium built, nice keyboard and screen.

sonyvaiow-4

Downsides that’s holding me back – the 3 hours battery life, noisy fan and non-upgradeable 1Gb RAM. Doh! Why do they always do that? Sony almost nailed it. Then again, this thing is cheaper than my HTC Hero or the iPhone 3Gs. So I’ll just shut the hell up. With that realization, suddenly this Sony Vaio W seems so appealing again.

sonyvaiow-5

12 Responses to “Sony Vaio W”


  1. 1 zzeed October 3, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    sweet. at least sony doesn’t shamelessly copy. but i still need a mac os x.

  2. 2 BigMacky October 4, 2009 at 9:11 am

    zzeed

    Honestly, it’s really the best looking netbook out there. For that price, I’m willing to overlook the shortcomings. I don’t mind it not being Mac OS. Just casual usage is fine. A replacement for my tiny phone when I’m in the office. You know how things are these days, every damn thing is blocked. So, having this little device around, with my data plan on my phone – this might be the perfect solution for me post iPhone.

    • 3 zzeed October 4, 2009 at 9:45 am

      Bigmacky

      I need to have a look at it myself, up close, and personal. Sounds like a good solution for 1 step higher than smartphone-level of portable internet.

      What happened to you and your iPhone?

      • 4 BigMacky October 4, 2009 at 9:58 am

        zzeed

        I wanted a new user experience. So, I got myself a HTC Hero. I like it. But of course, Android being new and all – the Android Market is nothing compared to the Apple App Store. So, I kinda miss all those apps on the iPhone. And being a 1st gen iPhone user since July 2007, you can imagine how am I adapting away from the Apple environment. Saying that, I do really like my HTC Hero. Its refreshing. Pwns the iPhone is many areas. But in the end – Apple still got the upper hand with its App Store and experience.

        Why not get an iPhone 3GS then? Well, I am sure you’ve heard of the ridiculous 2 months wait for delivery of an iPhone with Maxis. So, that kinda pisses me off and what’s stopping me from getting the 3Gs. So, thats the story. 🙂

  3. 5 dilemmax October 5, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    How much did you pay for it?? They are sell this in AUS for $999.

  4. 6 BigMacky October 5, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    dilemmax

    That’s expensive. I paid RM1,950 (Approx. AUS $645). You sure its the same model? The price difference is too much. Or are you referring to the iPhone 3Gs?

  5. 7 dilemmax October 5, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    I was referring to the Vaio W. It’s definitely the same model. Your post actually made me want to buy one, that’s why I went to check it out.

    Damn, wish I was in KL now. I just came back from there a few weeks ago.

  6. 8 BigMacky October 5, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    dilemmax

    Oh! Then its really expensive over there in AUS. I’ve been using it for all my needs, and I can assure you – its a great NetBook.

    Been putting it to test the whole of today. No problem whatsoever. Able to open 3 tabs on IE8, Media player streaming live radio and connected to MSN all at the same time. No problem. Just feel like I am using a normal laptop.

    Things will only get a bit jerky when I do all that plus watching a video file.

    🙂

  7. 9 dilemmax October 5, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Yeah I dunno why it is selling for expensive here. I just checked the US Sony website, different model number but same specs, selling for $499.99.

    No need to convince me twice, I’m definitely getting it now. I might get it from the US.

    BTW, I just ordered my white HTC Hero!! Can’t wait.

    By the way, I was searching for reviews of the HTC Hero and came across your blog. Seems like we share the same fetish for all things white – gadget wise anyway. lol

  8. 10 BigMacky October 5, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    dilemmax

    Haha. I guess you must have missed my other posts. I didn’t get a white HTC Hero for myself. I got a brown one. Same goes for the Sony Vaio W. I got the brown one instead. The white one is for my other half.

    https://bigmacky.wordpress.com/2009/10/04/my-sony-vaio-w/

    I used to like everything white. But now, kinda bored with it. Exploring other options. Anyway, glad you’re getting the W. 🙂

  9. 11 lemonadesoda October 14, 2009 at 6:12 am

    You can upgrade the memory, what ya talking about? I’m running my W with 2GB and a SSD. Pictures here: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=105619

  10. 12 BigMacky October 14, 2009 at 7:06 am

    lemonadesoda

    What you did, wouldn’t it void the warranty? But then again, I don’t think I wanna spend more on a SSD. The 2Gb RAM is very tempting though.

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=105177


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,585 hits

