My Sony Vaio W

my-vaio-w-1

Resistance was futile. I should trademark that line. Seems it’s my fav excuse. Got mine from Digital Stuff, LowYat Plaza moments ago. Pairing it with a Logitech Bluetooth wireless mouse. Those who know me would guess I will probably be getting a white unit. But nope! Just like my HTC Hero, I got a brown one instead. But I gotta say, the brown looks more like a black for the Sony Vaio W. Nice. Doing set-up now, will post more photos later.

UPDATE: Added photos and my impressions after the break:

w-hero-1

The brown Sony Vaio W is a match made in tech heaven for my brown HTC Hero. They look so good together. Destined to be together. Mental note to self: stop treating them like human beings. They are inanimate objects. Jeez!

w-hero-2

But can you blame me? Look at them? Tell me they are not a perfect match! For a better sense of scale, I’ve placed a standard DVD on top of my Vaio. See how tiny the unit is?

w-hero-0

Here’s a closed up view on the detail of it’s body. It has a slightly more expensive price tag compared with other brands like Dell and HP, but the quality of the unit shows. While Dell 11z has better specs, it still retained the same plasticky look and keyboards. Screen quality – the Sony is clearly superior.

w-hero-3

Before purchasing, I brought along some movie files in standard 480p and HD 720p quality to test. The machine has no problems running both full screen. The speaker is a tad soft but that’s a norm for netbook standards. Pairing the unit with an external speaker will solve the problem easily.

Not sure if this is a Digital Stuff exclusive give-away, but they gave me these laptop cases from boomwave. Coincidentally, it has the alphabet W on it. The quality and padding are really good as well. The bigger one is for the Sony Vaio W and the smaller one is for adapters and mouse.

w-hero-4

Conclusion: I’m pretty clear that this is a Netbook and I am not expecting it to perform like a MacBook Pro. I know my needs and I know what this machine is capable of. Surfing, blogging, IM chats, movies & storage for my photos and videos taken during holidays will be my main usage – and the Sony Vaio W will do just fine.

It has everything I need with the perfect price, built and size. I am a happy camper.

7 Responses to “My Sony Vaio W”


  1. 1 zzeed October 4, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    BicMacky

    Agh… quick you. I guess it doesn’t matter how I put it, you were going to get one anyway… ha-ha!

  2. 2 BigMacky October 4, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    zzeed

    Yeah, was either this or an iPhone 3Gs. But I needed something that I can bring along during my trips for my blogging, photos & videos files. But most importantly, I wanted a cheaper device for my working hours to utilize the data plan on my mobile. The MacBook Pro I want is RM4,499. So, this is a good alternative. And I like the size. Really compact but not plasticky. Its a nice machine. 🙂

  3. 3 virtualess October 5, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Wow, does this thing run on Vista?

  4. 4 BigMacky October 5, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Virtualess

    Nope. It comes bundled with Windows XP Home Edition. So far, using it, seems quite ok. I like the keyboard, nice to type on. As I use it mainly with the AC plugged in during office, so the 3 cell battery is not a determining factor to me. The reported noisy fan, is not as serious as some said it to be. I was using it last nite on my bed, when its quiet. I can hear the fan as I would on any Windows laptop. But not as loud as some made it to be. So far, am pretty satisfied with this baby. You must remember, its a netbook.

    Would be better if I have the option to upgrade to 2Gb RAM but since it’s not possible on this machine. Right now, I am replying your comment while listening to the HK online radio and MSN logged on. Running smooth. No problem at all.

    Accessing the net via my HTC Hero’s data connection. Speed is about 1Mb on my Maxis line.

  5. 5 virtualess October 5, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Thanks mate. I am using my old IBM X40 as a ‘netbook’ too – now in a meeting. I love the X40 keyboard, the best so far in my finger-experience. Battery life is bad – this notebook has been with me for more than 4 years.

    I love my Mac Book Pro a lot though, and my iPod touch. There is only 1 app I need to ‘resolve’ on iPod – a to do list that will sync with google. Using google calendar and contacts with iPod is great (you need to get an app to sync calendar else it will not work properly). I am really tempted to switch to 3GS in the near future….

  6. 6 virtualess October 5, 2009 at 11:22 am

    Sorry – calendar no problem. It was the contact that was having problem unless you use a dedicated app….

  7. 7 BigMacky October 5, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Virtualess

    Give in to temptation. iPhone 3Gs is calling.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,217 hits

