Mobile Broadband: Getting What You’ve Paid For?

telco-screwed2a

With Maxis, I am only getting about 1 Mbps as my office is not in a HSDPA coverage area. Celcom on the other hand, states that my area is HSDPA covered. Chances are, I’ll get at least 2 Mbps connection. Apart from speed, Celcom offers Unlimited Broadband at RM98 per month while I am currently paying RM78 for a 1.5Gb data on Maxis.

maxis-data-plan2

Are you sure Celcom is offering Unlimited Broadband? Yes, it is unlimited. BUT, once your usage exceeds the allocated 5Gb monthly cap, you will still be able to receive data at 128 kbps instead of HSDPA (3.6 Mbps speed). Maxis on the other hand, boasts that they will not lower your speed once you reach your monthly data limit. You know why? Because Maxis will charge 0.05 sen/KB for subsequent data usage up to a maximum of RM250 per bill. Sneaky bastard!

DiGi is offering Data Unlimited Plan for RM66 but it’s not 3G but just EDGE at 384 kbps. Anyway, I’ve just re-applied for my MNP with Celcom yesterday, let’s see how long it takes until they port me over.

11 Responses to “Mobile Broadband: Getting What You’ve Paid For?”


  1. 1 zzeed October 6, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    BicMacky

    I use unlimited data with Maxis at RM99. For now.

    Celcom used to charge me max (RM400), after discount of which became RM200, but was still ridiculous a charge for something I didn’t use. I quit celcom a while back for digi.

    I still sustain my use of Maxis, although sneaky, at least the charge is proportionate to what I use.

  2. 2 BigMacky October 6, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    zzeed

    You’re lucky to have kept your Unlimited Plan with Maxis. They recently changed the plan. But existing subscribers can still retain the unlimited offer. Lucky you.

  3. 3 virtualess October 7, 2009 at 12:31 am

    Hallo, I am the next lucky one I think – still on the 99 unlimited with Maxis. Err, the chinese paper reviewed Digi broadband the one with the USB thing, and they conclude that Digi has the most reliable USBthingbroadband service….

  4. 4 zzeed October 7, 2009 at 4:42 am

    BicMacky

    What have they changed, do you know?

  5. 5 BigMacky October 7, 2009 at 6:36 am

    virtualess

    I hate you guys! I was on Maxis Unlimited too, then I itchy itchy backside and switched to DiGi. I can testify that DiGi sucks. (Data Plan, not its 3G Broadband with USB modem).

  6. 6 BigMacky October 7, 2009 at 6:49 am

    zzeed

    Updated my post with packages from Maxis. See! Don’t cancel! Since you are still currently a subscriber. For me, I need mobile data more than call/sms minutes. I communicate with my friends via social network or Instant Messaging on my HTC Hero. So, on average – am able to stay within the allocated monthly call minutes.

    Now, with my Sony Vaio W + tethering via my HTC Hero, I need a fast and Unlimited data package even more. As mentioned in my post, Maxis is only able to give me 1 Mpbs at my office. Not good enough. Besides, the new plan sucks.

  7. 7 virtualess October 7, 2009 at 9:55 am

    Dear Gadget God

    I am tempted to switch to iPhone 3Gs because I manage to get Google to push their emails / calendars / contacts to my iPod touch for free…. BUT i have the following reservations:

    1) iPhone speaker phone is weak, very weak….. cannot hear (My partner is using it)
    2) New iPhone coming out in the coming year? No, I don’t know, I am just starting a rumour because I believe 3G is useless other than video call and tethering which are not well implemented and even implemented in iPhone yet
    3) The local plan is terrible – prefer to get an iPhone else where so I can stick with my plan…..
    4) since I love google so much, Android might be the way to go

    So oh GOG (God of Gadget) – what do you think?

    BTW, I am tempted to get the EOS 7D….. hihihihi!

  8. 8 BigMacky October 7, 2009 at 10:11 am

    virtualess

    You are mad! You already have the Canon 5D Mark II, now you want the 7D for what? Then again, of all people, I should understand your wants – as I do have insatiable wants for gadgets. Sigh.

    iPhone 3GS. Based on Apple’s 2 year track record, there’s a new “upgrade” to the iPhone line every June. So, it’s really a matter of getting it now to meet your current needs and not any other reason. If it meets your needs, why not? Just like my Sony Vaio W, sure – the rumored Apple tablet and all, but at a right price point and size, I get what I need with the Vaio.

    By the time Maxis allow contract free purchase of the iPhone 3GS, chances are – you’ll be pretty much close to a product upgrade. So, there will be another round of madness of pre-booking and waiting and wondering, will Apple release a newer and better one and will the price drop … yada yada yada.

    As Celcom is rumored to be launching the iPhone 3GS in January, with an initial batch of 10,000 units hitting the market. Hopefully by then, Maxis will stop its “worldwide shortage” nonsense.

    Android phones. Only the HTC Hero catches my eye. Everything else, the interface just sucks.

  9. 9 Marvin Lee October 8, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    I did some research on the packages too, yeah the maxis one is kinda sneaky. It doesn’t even have an alert mechanism to let you know you have breached the 3GB cap, so you continue to use and be charged. Ironically, for hour and day pass you are alerted.

    Big Macky, on average do you use up to 3GB a month, that would be like 100MB per day.
    Of course you could if you do downloads, but what about typical browsing?

  10. 10 BigMacky October 8, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Marvin

    I only started tethering this week since I got my Sony Vaio W netbook. Prior to this, i mostly surf and stream online radio via my phone. On average, I use about 400Mb data per month. Now, tethering will definitely demand higher data usage.

    This morning alone, I’ve used up 100Mb for my Sony Media Go download. Then again, if I knew it was that big a file, I would have waited and download it from home instead.

    I can’t say how much data I would be using as its still new. My Celcom line and Data Unlimited package just got activated this morning. But I would say having 100Mb buffer per day is a comfortable estimate.

  11. 11 sky October 15, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    using 100mb a day isnt much. As far as i’m using, loitering on youtube for a while hours could probably cap that already. a normal clip is about 1mb per minute, Imagine HD clip? even for normal clip, 100mb is only 1.5 hours. not much for me.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 732,971 hits

