Sony Vaio X

Vaio_X_05

I knew that Sony Vaio X is thin. But I didn’t expect it to be this thin. Just got back from LowYat Plaza and played with the newly arrived Sony Vaio X which has the thickness of a pencil when closed. It was a real tech wonder. At 1.6 pounds and half an inch thin – this baby is seriously light.


Vaio_X_01

In Malaysia, only the black unit is available. Comes in 2 specs. The entry level unit comes with Intel® Atom™ Processor Z540*1 (1.86 GHz) for RM3,999 and the higher end unit Intel® Atom™ Processor Z550*1 (2 GHz – RM5,299). Both has a non-upgradeable 2Gb of RAM and a SSD of 64GB  and 128GB respectively.
Vaio_X_04

I gotta be honest. I was really tempted. In fact, a purchase was almost made. Almost. Then, the last bit of sanity in me told me to take a walk to the Mac shop. For with RM3,999 – I could almost get the 13″ MacBook Pro which I’ve been drooling for a long time. If you’re into gadgets, you’ll understand the impulse upon seeing something this awesome right before your eyes.

If this was a Mac, I would’ve gotten it right there and then. But I still can’t make myself to pay for something that runs Windows 7 with the limitation of a netbook at a price tag that could almost get me a MacBook Pro. Thank goodness I still have some sanity in me.

8 Responses to “Sony Vaio X”


  1. 1 zzeed October 25, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    BigMacky,

    Like I always tell everybody else… Macs can help knock us into some senses. Heheh.

  2. 2 BigMacky October 26, 2009 at 7:00 am

    zzeed

    You really should check it out. It’s amazingly thin and light. To be fair to Sony, for something so technologically advanced, RM3,999 is not expensive at all. Functionality aside.

  3. 3 Harribal October 26, 2009 at 10:55 am

    well, I think I’ll get one.
    no doubt, gold unit.
    (ΦωΦ)uhuhu

  4. 4 BigMacky October 26, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Harribal

    You are earning Japanese YEN! You’re damn rich! So price should not be a concern to you! The price in Tokyo is only ¥89,800 (Approx. RM3,300). I hate you ….

  5. 5 zzeed October 26, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    BigMacky

    I have, actually. At the Mines on Sunday.

  6. 6 BigMacky October 27, 2009 at 7:53 am

    zzeed

    An Apple FanBoy touching a Sony? I can’t visualize that. 🙂

  7. 7 cvj April 8, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Sony VAIO VGN-FW510F/B
    We usually purchase the business line of Sony laptops so this was the first retail model we have bought in many years, so far no complaints, it is pretty fast, well as fast as it can be with Windows 7 anyway. Definately like this model for home use and design work, end user is a graphic designer.

  8. 8 lancefire April 11, 2010 at 1:58 am

    i’m still waiting for the new MBP to arrive. saw the vaio x last week and i’m now seriously considering it as an alternative!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,437 hits

