Hello, I’m A Mac, And He’s A Copy

mac-win7

Mr. Simon Aldous – Group Manager at Microsoft screwed up bad when he said the following during an interview. “One of the things that people say an awful lot about the Apple Mac is that the OS is fantastic, that it’s very graphical and easy to use. What we’ve tried to do with Windows 7 – whether it’s traditional format or in a touch format – is create a Mac look and feel in terms of graphics.” I feel bad for him and I am sure his weekend would probably be depressing. But you can’t blame a man for his honesty, can you?

8 Responses to “Hello, I’m A Mac, And He’s A Copy”


  1. 1 virtualess November 12, 2009 at 10:39 am

    He is so honest, like a little baby! MS has always been lacking in creativity – from the early days of MS DOS to their Windows to their Zune to BING and XBOX (Sorry mate). What is really creative about them is their monopoly of Windows OS and MS Office. Sorry MS, I hate to say this, we have to use your product because we have little alternative but you guys really tried very very hard to please us. But there is this missing X factor in MS products (XBOX?).

    And MS has all the $$$ to keep trying.

    My bet in the future is in companies which have a steady ego but not excessive, and always giving us something unexpected. That IS real entertainment.

  2. 2 BigMacky November 12, 2009 at 11:30 am

    virtualess

    Though I’m pretty much a Sony PlayStation guy, I won’t say that the Xbox360 is a dud. In fact, I’ll go as far as saying it’s an even more refined console compared to the Sony PlayStation 3. The user interface, how things are displayed and players are connected. To put it in the Mac and PC perspective, the PlayStation 3 is like the pc and the Xbox360 is the Mac.

    For instance, in PlayStation 3 – your friends are just a stupid name list. In Xbox360, your friends are animated Avatars with customizable backdrop and theme. How you communicate with them is very well thought out. In PlayStation 3 – I’ve always hated the XMB (Cross Media Bar). It’s a lazy port from the dated Sony PSP interface.

    Photobucket

    You and I can attest to the fact that not only Xbox360’s hardware is prone to failure. Both our PlayStation 3 got the dreaded YlOD (Yellow light of death) and had to send in our unit for repair. Now, I am very conscious on my gaming time on the PlayStation 3 to avoid sending in my 2nd unit.

    The only thing that’s keeping me on the PlayStation more than an Xbox360 are my online friends. When I join the Xbox360 online community, I am most alone. In my Sony PlayStation 3 friendlist, it’s almost full. In my Xbox360 friend list – I can count with both my hands.

    Long story short, I do think Microsoft did a pretty good job for the Xbox360. I can’t say the same for it’s other product and services. But the Xbox360 is a very good console experience. Then again, you’ll really need to experience XboxLive to know. And that coming from a Sony PlayStation 3 fanboy.

    I love all 3-consoles. But I just bitch about one more than the others. (Nintendo Wii: I am looking at you). Anyway, just giving credit where credit is due. 🙂

  3. 3 virtualess November 12, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    OK OK, point taken. MS has this ability to spend $$ to buy or win the competition – they have enough resources to do that. For that, I kind of dislike their style.

    Err, was WR2 on PS3 or Xbox360 that you are playing?

  4. 4 zzeed November 12, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    A few things M$ft did well
    – Excel
    – Halo
    – Xbox

    Bing looks like it’s coming together. I enjoy searching images using it.

    The rest are all pretty much sugar-coated cosmetics that never really work. They work, but not exactly the way you want to handle things,, right?

    Simon did it correctly – come clean and hopefully people are able to decide objectively. But of course it looks bad to be showing that you’ve always wanted to copy Mac.

  5. 6 BigMacky November 12, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    virtualess

    Not really. Sure, no doubt – they have the money. But if they can buy or win the competition with money, why does their other stuff sucks so bad? What I am trying to say is, the Xbox360 team is really something. To me, it felt like they are real gamers compared to the team over at PlayStation who are hardware designers. XboxLive is brilliantly executed. And I am more than willing to pay that small monthly subscription fee.

    WR2? What’s that? Or are you referring to MW2? If it’s Modern Warfare 2, I will most probably be on both platform. Just in case the online servers got screwed up on PlayStation 3 (like last nite), I will still have XboxLive to fall back on. No other games will get such treatment from me. Only Call Of Duty can. I have CoD4 and World At War on both platforms. So, I guess, this will happen for MW2 as well. 🙂

    Photobucket

  6. 7 virtualess November 12, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Aiya, sorry la, I meant MWF2. Yes, the Sony ppl are h/w designers more than software stuff. However, I actually prefer the games written by the Japs such as FF and MGS. The western world one is errr, sorry la, a little less to my liking, not until we have LBP etc.

    Have to stop this kind of discussion cause it will not end. Just enjoy your gadgets! My all time fav now is …. iPod touch, and I look forward to being googled with their android phone in the near future (months….. away).


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,335 hits

