DiGi: Back To Square One

digi-3g-1511

Today, I switched back to DiGi again. I was pissed with Maxis because they do not have a warning system to alert it’s customers on the data usage. Long story short, I was slapped with a RM250 bill for one week’s usage. Now that DiGi has rolled out it’s Unlimited 3G mobile broadband here in the Klang Valley for RM48 a month – it’s bye bye Maxis. Sure, I’ll never be able to get 2Mbps connection at my office, but its not speed I need. It’s unlimited data at an acceptable average speed of 700kbps. There, I am back right at where I started. Thank goodness for Mobile Network Portability.

9 Responses to “DiGi: Back To Square One”


  1. 1 zzeed November 15, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Is this connection reliable? Speed is not everything. Credibility (communication with customer) and reliability (connectivity) play big roles too.

  2. 2 BigMacky November 15, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    zzeed

    Its not as fast, but it meets my requirements. To stream online radio and surfing websites at the same time. At least now, I will not be slapped with a 5Gb data usage for 1 week doing so. Just one week, and I used 5GB for online stream. Now, I just pay RM48,

  3. 3 David Chin November 16, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Are you able to tether your iPhone and use it as a modem for internet access via your computer?

  4. 4 BigMacky November 16, 2009 at 11:25 am

    David

    I am no longer an iPhone user. I am currently using HTC Hero and yes, I am able to tether on my netbook. I mainly stream online radio at work, and so far – the connection has been smooth. Only downside is, getting 3G signals is area dependent. If your area doesn’t have 3G coverage, you’ll be on EDGE. And as with EDGE connections, voice calls/sms will be interrupted during streaming. Because EDGE can only support 1 or the other function but not both at the same time as 3G.

    But as long as it meets my streaming requirements, I am fine with DiGi’s shortcomings. At least now I can rest assured, I will not be slapped with a RM250 bill for my usage.

  5. 5 David Chin November 16, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Bummer, you’re not on the iPhone anymore? What were your reasons? Maybe a new article on this topic? 🙂

  6. 7 David Chin November 16, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Thanks for the write-up!

  7. 8 faa December 21, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Hi I need your help. I read that you are able to use your iPhone for internet tethering to your netbook.

    I’m using iPhone 3Gs with firmware 3.1 and wish to do the same too. (currently on digi postpaid data unlimited plan by the way 🙂 )

    Any form of help would be appreciated!

    (been figuring out WHY the internet tethering option doesn’t appear in my iPhone)

    THANKSSS!!

    • 9 BigMacky December 21, 2009 at 1:37 pm

      Faa

      I can’t tether on iPhone with DiGi as well. I was only able to do that when I was using my HTC Hero. According to DiGi and someone I know, Apple disabled that since 3.1.2 or something. So, it’s a no go.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 732,971 hits

