Tethering On DiGi, Help!

Before I got my iPhone 3GS – I did try tethering with my friend’s unit. He is a Maxis customer and using an official Maxis iPhone 3GS. It worked. As I was using my Sony Vaio W to access the net – I just had to install iTunes to get the connections going. Before long, I was surfing the net via his iPhone 3GS’s data connection. So, when I tried tethering with my DiGi data connection – I noticed that the Tethering option is not there.

Since I was at Pavilion, went to DiGi Centre to enquire about it. As usual, the customer service personnel looked at me as if I was speaking in tongues. Long story short, this dude said DiGi doesn’t provide tethering support for iPhone but Blackberries. Knowing how “knowledgeable” they can be – I relied on Mr. Google instead and found steps provided by fellow DiGi users to enable this feature. It requires me sending a digi.mobileconfig file to myself and opening it on my iPhone. Simple enough. File sent, opened and installed – but still, the Tethering option is still not available. Contacted the thread starter and hoping he might know of a new way or file. My guess is that the latest 3.1.2 firmware on my iPhone 3GS disabled this bypass. If any of you out there, know of a way – please please please let me know. I need tethering – badly. Thanks.

UPDATE: Got a response from the thread starter. According to him,
For firmware 3.1.x above, tethering has been disabled and only work with the contracted telco which is Maxis. We are still loooking for solutions for other telco users. May need to wait for sometime mate.

UPDATE 2: DiGi responded to my Twitter enquiry and confirmed the same.


6 Responses to “Tethering On DiGi, Help!”


  1. 1 kokyun November 29, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    if you dont mind to jailbreak your newly phone this time again, you might want to try this
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=5634

  2. 2 BigMacky November 29, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    kokyun

    Oh no no no no no …. and no. No way I am going back to the Jailbreaking route again. I’d rather live within the limitations for now and hope for a solution that requires no jailbreaking. Gulp!

  3. 3 David Chin November 30, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Darn it, I’m on Digi and want the ability to use my (future) iPhone this way, tethered – this is not good news.

    • 4 BigMacky November 30, 2009 at 12:43 pm

      David

      Sux doesn’t it? It’s like one could never get the best of both worlds. Right now, I am so envious of those out there who are still eligible for Unlimited Data Plan from Maxis and using a contract free iPhone 3GS. Damn!

  4. 5 zzeed December 4, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    BigMacky,

    What were your limitations on jail-broken iPhones? Software/app availability?

    • 6 BigMacky December 5, 2009 at 9:03 am

      zzeed

      No. In fact. On Jailbroken iPhones. All those apps are free. There are sites where you can download and install those IPAs for free. BUT as these are uploaded to the net by unknown sources, chances of malware attack and security issues on the device will be questionable.

      Also, some PUSH features on apps will not work on Jailbroken phones. For example, I am a BeeJive (Instant Messaging) user. With this app, you’re supposed to receive SMS-like messages from your buddies even if you’re not in the app or when the phone is in sleep mode. On Jailbroken phone, this feature is flaky. Sometimes it works. But most of the time, it doesn’t. So, there are some performance issues with apps as well.

      Then of course, everytime Apple releases an update, you’ll have to wait till the DevTeeam to crack it, and read paragraph 1 and 2 again. It’s a repetitive process which I am not a fan of.

      Now, I am happy with my official phone. Everything just works like a charm. Correction! Everything except tethering on DiGi. Sighhhhhhh.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 719,536 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

