What’s Wrong With Android? Nothing.

Since my post about my new iPhone 3GS a week ago, I’ve since received messages from some readers and friends asking what’s wrong with Android and what made me go back to using iPhone again? For the record, there is nothing wrong with Android or HTC Hero for that matter. As a phone, it still kicks iPhone’s ass. The size, form and interface – perfect. It only loses out at the media integration part without having something like iTunes. And for those who think that iTunes has over 120,000 apps is a big deal – bullshit! Have you checked out the App Store lately? Beyond page one of the featured apps – you’ll find rubbish. Fugly looking apps, useless and totally a waste of space. Android Market, it’s new and has about 10% of what the Apple App Store is today – given enough time, it will too get as crowded and filled with fugly looking apps like Apple’s. So, what’s the deal? Personally, I love Podcasts. I love the ease of updating my photos, music, etc with iTunes on my 3GS. That’s what made me return to the iPhone. With Android 2.1 coming real soon, things are gonna get even better for the Hero. Did I mention that HTC Hero can tether on any Telco while iPhone 3GS is locked to Maxis? See, HTC Hero is like a free spirit while the iPhone 3GS is like a shackled-soul. If one is totally honest, one would not be able to decide between one over the other. You just can’t. So, choose your own poison.

10 Responses to “What’s Wrong With Android? Nothing.”


  1. 1 dilemmax December 9, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    My Hero has been sluggish and laggy lately. It’s starting to annoy me! My 3GS is wrapped up. I’m not too sure if I should give it a go..

    • 2 BigMacky December 9, 2009 at 6:31 pm

      dilemmax

      Did you update your Hero’s ROM? Maybe you’re a heavy user and multitasking on your Hero. I’m not facing any lag issues on my Hero. If not mistaken, am using Modaco’s 2.8 ROM or something.

      A 3GS wrapped up? What are you waiting for? Christmas morning? Haha.

  2. 3 Prazole December 9, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Hi, i am another iphone to HERO user.
    i personally does not think that one phone is better than the other, & its all based on user preferences. Iphone is like a computer u ordered from Dell website. easy, hassle free, but restricted. Hero is the computer u went to lowyat to assemble. fully customisable, open source.

    im anxiously waiting for the 2.1 update. currently on MODACO 2.9.
    3.0 just recently released but no time to do the update.

    • 4 BigMacky December 9, 2009 at 9:04 pm

      Hey Prazole

      I like your analogy. I have not been reading up on what 2.1 has to offer, but exciting times nonetheless. Hope it doesn’t do what iPhone’s latest firmware did to 1st Gen and 3G iPhones. Laggy as hell.

      Time to visit Modaco’s site again. Lost touch with what’s happening in the Android world for awhile. 🙂

  3. 5 zzeed December 9, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    BigMacky,

    Steve Jobs is a master in getting the killer app that gets people on board – the iTunes.

    • 6 BigMacky December 10, 2009 at 7:11 am

      zzeed

      When they first launched iTunes – everyone thought Apple went berserk. A company that sells computers now selling music? Man! Steve Jobs was light years ahead. Nokia, Ericsson, Motorola didn’t see that coming then and now all of them are struggling to create a replica of iTunes. Lame.

  4. 7 virtualess December 10, 2009 at 9:04 am

    OK I will still stick with my stone age brick (Nokia) PLUS iPoad touch….. next phone will most likely be the Android….

    • 8 BigMacky December 10, 2009 at 10:13 am

      Virtualess

      You should put the “brick” to rest. Get the Moto Droid. That phone is a worthy successor to your Nokia “brick”. You’ve maxed out your investment on that thing. Come on! Moto needs u.

  5. 9 virtualess December 10, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Is it on sale in Malaysia? Aiya, I don’t like Moto brand la, I hope Nokia comes out with an Adroid version


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,759 hits

