Movie: Avatar – It’s Good, I Mean, Really Really Good

I’m sure you’ve seen trailers of this movie by now – or heard about it’s director, James Cameron – the man behind the biggest grossing movie of all time, Titanic. Not sure about you, but before this – I was just fairly interested in catching this movie. Boy was I pleasantly surprised. This movie (3D version) kicked ass!

I saw the Conan O’Brien interview with James Cameron the other day and thought, meh. They showed a clip from the movie and I went meh again. First of all, there are no major stars in the movie (so I thought). Then I find the blue characters were like an over sized Smurf, not liking them at all. But when you watch the movie – you’ll see that the details on these characters, the world they live in, the creatures – it’s amazing. The 3D effects were not overpowering but blends into the story telling so well. I gotta say, the story ain’t new though. An outcast slowly gain the trust of a clan and rise to lead the people to victory.

Since I watched the 3D version, I can’t say how will the experience be for the standard 2D version but please do yourself a favor and watch the 3D version instead. There are blog posts from top tech sites today saying that Avatar is the iPhone for the movie industry. Personally, it sets a new benchmark so high for movie goers like me, folks like Steven Spielberg, Michael Bay, Peter Jackson should review their current projects.

It was a great move by James Cameron to cast mostly unknown actors for this movie. I don’t think it will work as well if for instance, Brad Pitt was to play the lead. Was surprised Sigourney Weaver played quite a big role but wasn’t publicized much.

But the real stars of this movie were the creatures of Pandora. Every single one of them, were so well designed. The glowing plants and creatures in the nite, so colorfully detailed. I’ll probably watch this movie again upon returning from my trip in early January. Hope it’s still showing then. Cuz this is a movie – even Bluray disc will not do it justice. One just has to watch it with those 3D glasses in a cinema hall with the best sound system available. Go, you’ll enjoy the ride.

6 Responses to “Movie: Avatar – It’s Good, I Mean, Really Really Good”


  1. 1 virtualess December 21, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    I watched and enjoyed the Non 3D version and it was really good, and it was a rare occasion I watched pass 1am in the morning. I will try to catch the 3D version!

  2. 3 zzeed December 21, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    BigMacky,

    What score do you give… on a scale of 10..

    • 4 BigMacky December 22, 2009 at 7:41 am

      zzeed

      I would give it a 9 out of 10. Short of perfect 10 because of the story (not that it’s bad, just that it’s not new but a classic rise to leadership story we’ve seen over and over). But this movie triumphs in giving a whole new experience of going to the movies. It took the basic fundamentals of a great movie – and complete it with cutting edge body mapping, 3D effects and designs. You just gotta see it in 3D to really see James Cameron’s vision.

  3. 5 Nat January 6, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    This movie was F***inG AWESOME!!! I watched it in 3D with Candy and Mark and because the cinemas were like full packed we got separated seating we ended up getting really up the front seats and Candy got one of the high up back seats. I was pretty pissed because like most normal non-3D movies sitting up the very front is one of the worst seatings you can get but to our surprise sitting up the very front of the cinemas actually enhanced the 3D effects of the movie. This movie is now like #1 on my favorite movie list! I could go and watch it again!! Candy said that his seating was good but closer would have been better which i have made my final conclusion when watching a 3D movie front seatings are the best! Best movie EVA!!! felt like being an avatar after watching the movie =D

    • 6 BigMacky January 19, 2010 at 6:36 am

      Nat

      Maybe by sitting closer, you’re getting the IMAX effect. Hahaha. But glad you enjoyed the movie. Candy been telling Uncle Kong about how great and how much he enjoyed the show. Hehe.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,451 hits

