My Trip So Far

Last nite, we went to Odaiba. For the first time, rainbow bridge was indeed in rainbow color. In all my previous trips to Odaiba, it has always been lighted in white. The weather was a little cloudy but cold. The last few days, we’ve covered many places and was dead tired. Didn’t even have the energy to update my blog.

The picture above was taken at Roponggi. The Christmas lighting was beautiful with Tokyo Tower in the background. Having friends who drive does make our trip much more accessible. We managed to visit a few spots in the evening which don’t think I will have the energy to if we were to take public transport. My friends, they are the best!

Earlier in the evening, we headed to Harajuku. The street was packed with a sea of people as far as the eye could see. Guess everyone was doing their last minute shopping for the New Year celebration. We were hoping to catch people in costume but only managed to catch a handful of girls dressed in dolls outfit and Final Fantasy inspired costumes.

Today, we will be heading to Yokohama. The journey will take about 1 hour and 30 mins by train from Shinjuku where I am currently staying. My friend will pick us up on his way back to Tokyo. Yes! Less walking and commuting.

10 Responses to “My Trip So Far”


  1. 1 zirconic December 28, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    Wah, such a beautiful night scenery of The Rainbow Bridge!

  2. 3 zzeed December 30, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    BigMacky,

    Sounds like a great trip. Wish I can visit Japan too, with some convenience.

  3. 5 Nat January 6, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    That bridge looks stunning!! I don’t remember seeing the rainbow bridge looking like that the last time we went to Tokyo, it must be like a Christmas special or sometime. The trees looks so beautiful all lit up, I have definitely added Christmas in Japan on my list of MUST things to do. Seeing everything decorated all out for Christmas must have really brought the whole Christmas festive season and feeling to life.

    • 6 BigMacky January 7, 2010 at 12:47 pm

      Nat

      That’s the first time I’ve ever seen Rainbow bridge in rainbow colors as well. All these while, been a boring white. Do plan a trip to Tokyo during Christmas, its just too beautiful. You will love it.

  4. 7 bychang January 8, 2010 at 9:52 am

    hi!
    great photos!
    would like to ask what camera you use?
    contemplating on buying my own dslr camera soon…
    thanks!

    • 8 BigMacky January 8, 2010 at 10:03 am

      Photobucket

      bychang

      I have the Canon EOS 50D, EF-S 18-200mm IS lens and Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 lens. You’ll never regret getting a DSLR. The quality of your photos will be leaps and bounds from your point-and-shoot days.

      🙂

  5. 9 bychang January 8, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    problem is i have no background in using a dslr.. 🙂

    maybe have to enroll in basic digital photography to make photos as nice as yours!

    thanks for your reply…

    • 10 BigMacky January 8, 2010 at 4:15 pm

      bychang

      Blush. My photos are not as good as I hoped it to be. But its all about experimenting. Playing with settings. Don’t be afraid of the M dial. I love playing with Manual settings. I’ve never taken any photography lessons before as well. Its more of in-the-field experimentation. You gotta learn the ins-and-outs of your cam. Feel it. Play with it. And most importantly, don’t feel dishearten when the photos turn out bad. Personally, I think what’s important is the feel of a photo. During this trip, my friend took a very nice photo at Shinjuku station. I didn’t get anything as good as this. But when you do, it’s a great feeling.

      Photobucket


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 733,208 hits

