iPhone: Voice Notes

blog_vnotes.jpg

I wonder why Apple did not include this little feature in the iPhone itself. It’s quite a handy application and the people who came up with this is awsome! With a simple hack, this feature will be added into your iPhone. Images and link after the break.

As you can see, a new icon for Vnotes is added to my iPhone’s SpringBoard. Clicking it will launch the application just like any other apps built by Apple.

vr_1.jpg

Pressing the Record button on the top right hand corner will initiate a record session. Once you are done, simply click Finish Recording and the file will be saved.

vr_2.jpg

By default, the filename will be the date and time you recorded the voice note. Clicking the file name will bring up Memo Actions which include the options shown below.

vr_3.jpg

For a detailed tutorial in installing this application. Click here or visit HackTheiPhone.com.

33 Responses to “iPhone: Voice Notes”


  1. 1 john September 10, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    I was excited about voice recording and then emailing

    The voice recording works great, but when I email it, there is NO ATTACHMENT

    How can I solve this problem

    Thanks,
    John

  2. 2 RDub September 11, 2007 at 4:15 am

    I can’t seem to find VNotes to download it onto my iPhone. Where can I get it please? Thank you.

  3. 3 BigMacky September 11, 2007 at 8:02 am

    John

    I’ve just used the record feature, haven’t tried forwarding it via email. Will check it out.

  4. 4 BigMacky September 11, 2007 at 8:03 am

    RDub

    The site moved it’s domain to a new hosting company and updated it’s URL. You can find it here.

    http://www.hacktheiphone.com/iphone_installing_voice_recorder_windows.html

  5. 5 BigMacky September 13, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    John

    Tried it. I managed to record and forward it via email. The file extension is .amr.

  6. 6 Rodney September 14, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    I installed it and I can record with it, however I have no option of sending to voice mail. That button is not there. Also if I send it to my wifes iphone she cannot listen to it, its there as attachment but cannot click it.

  7. 7 Anonymous September 18, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Hmm, it froze my iPhone. Maybe it was because I was using bluetooth.

  8. 8 HGT October 5, 2007 at 4:40 am

    Hi,BigMacky
    I install the app and it does well.
    I have a question about how i uninstall the app which is not installed by installer.
    Could you tell me how?

  9. 9 ALPEUR October 10, 2007 at 2:11 am

    I can’t seem to find VNotes to download it onto my iPhone. Where can I get it please? Thank you.

  10. 10 BigMacky October 10, 2007 at 4:07 am

    ALPEUR

    The tutorial was posted in August and currently, the information on the page is deprecated. My suggestion is to install iBricker over at the following site and Vnotes is listed under Applications within iBrickr. Have fun.

    http://cre.ations.net/creation/ibrickr

  11. 11 Scott October 20, 2007 at 3:24 am

    Great app! no idea why Apple didn’t include something like this…..

    What would be really cool, if you could launch the voice record app and record phone calls (allow for launching during a call, eg: when someone is giving you directions or a lot of info…instead of taking notes you could just record and playback later!).

  12. 12 BigMacky October 21, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    Scott

    Yeah. That would be sweet. But you know what? I guess Steve Jobs must be thinking – “You guys are too much! I gave you the most advanced mobile phone interface on the planet and you guys want backward features like copy and paste and phone conversation recording? …”

    Well Steve … remember customers are always right?

  13. 13 Ron Yochum October 31, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    I would like to install this. Is there a way to Pause the dictation then resume?

    What type of audio file is it and what kind of codec and bit rate does it record at?

    Does installing this expose your phone to “bricking”?

  14. 14 shido6 January 18, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Need a Phone plugin to record phone calls now.

    -sx

  15. 15 Jon February 16, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Since I’m on 1.1.3, Voicenotes and other applications like iAno aren’t working properly. Anyone know of some extra file i need to install or something?

  16. 16 BigMacky February 19, 2008 at 2:36 am

    Hey Jon

    Can’t help you there. Sorry. Been out-of-touch with all these apps ages ago. Still, just happy using my iPhone on 1.0.2 – though itching to upgrade it to the latest firmware since a friend of mine successfully done so.

  17. 17 viscous March 4, 2008 at 4:19 am

    Vnotes on my iphone has a different icon as well. Plus it doesnt run. When I click on it, a white window appears and within few seconds it crashes and takes me back to the main menu. I think i am running 1.1.3.

  18. 18 Francisco Porfirio March 10, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I can’t seem to find VNotes to download it onto my iPhone 1.1.1. Where can I get it please? Thank you.

  19. 19 frustrated March 14, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    I can’t believe Apple missed this one. I looked over and over (well, I admit, also getting distracted).

    This seemed so basic I can’t believe they didn’t put it on the iphone. It’s 100x more useful (or it would be) than most of the other garbage on there. Sure, it’s great to get the weather forecast with one click. So what??? I saw it on TV before I left this morning and it isn’t going to change! And if the horizon darkens I’ve got this thing called a RAHEDEO in my car. Apple should try one.

    Back to the point. I think of something I need to take care of. I can pull over, start a program, and use the puke little keyboard to type in shorthand.

    Or I could push a button, record my memo, and keep going. Doing so 25 times during the day. Then, when I return to the office I play the file. I can enter data on my pc, the iphone, hand the iphone to my secretary to process. Whatever… It seems absolutely incredible to me they didn’t see this as one of the most useful things to put on the phone. And it’s got all the hardware right there! Speaker, mic, battery, screen.

    All they’d have had to do was find someone capable of programming a fairly basic program. I guess that’s where teh problem arose.

    My solution: I kept my old phone account with another carrier (could also be on at&t) so I’d have something reasonably sized for days when I didn’t want to lug the iphone around or knew I’d be away from a charger for more than a couple hours. So I call my other number and leave myself a voicemail message. Then I execute the procedure listed above when I return to the office. Or I call the sec and tell her to go to vm and do the same.

    It’s really rather foolish to have to do it that way. Maybe someday they’ll add it. Or someone else will.

  20. 20 Alex March 17, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    You can try http://www.vmtag.com/index.php. It’s free and really neat.

  21. 21 Vib April 7, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    it crashed my iphone to recovery mode twice… buggy at 1.1.3

  22. 22 flowctrl April 10, 2008 at 12:50 am

    I used pwnage to unlock and enable a new 16GB iphone. The Installer app works great, but some things — like VNotes — are missing from their catalogue.

    Is there some tool like iBrickr, to get 3rd party apps onto the phone, only that runs on Mac OSX?

  23. 23 Patrick April 15, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Voice Notes works great but… can somebody tell me how to delete a recorded message?

  24. 24 Ariel April 19, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Hi Patrick!
    Just push the “Edit” button on the top right corner, and select “Delete”.
    Bye!
    (sorry for my english)

  25. 25 ana luiza April 23, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    i’ve been recording many audios from classrom, from work, my son, and so on.
    I use windows xp, itunes, and voice notes.
    In all of them i can’t find the file.
    Now I need to transfers all this files to my PC.
    How can I do this? What SW should I use or install?

    Thanks,
    Ana Luiza

  26. 26 tomob May 12, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Cool App – and I see that wordpress recommended me! Up above.

    iPhone Changes Everything

    Thanks – TO’B
    MotiveQuest LLC

  27. 27 Erik May 13, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Hi,

    I am running ZiPhone 1.1.3
    When I pressed the “stop record” button the phone crashes and leaves it hanging with the apple logo. After this crash i have no sound in the phone, no ring tones etc. How do I fix this?

  28. 28 Rob May 18, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Could someone tell me how to hear my voice messages on the speaker opposed to the head phones? Thanks in Advance

  29. 29 benjie June 23, 2008 at 4:04 am

    hi, been using the voice notes and its a great app. It causes my iPhone to hang/freeze a few times but its ok. I’ll live.

    I record and email my instructions to my people its a greattrick, beats typing everything down. Faster too. But when I email voice notes to blackberry they can’t open the .AMR file why? Are we using a dufft file type or something?

    Everyone uses blackberry if not an iPhone so there must be a way we can communicate.

  30. 30 Thmokey517 October 21, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Ok is there an issue if I hack my iPhone will that deplete my warranty or stop me from sending it in. Plus mine has a nasty spider web looking crack and im going to sell it and I am just going to get the 3g should i just hack it till i get it within the next week or just not do it at all.

  31. 31 Evan February 24, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Hey this app. is great.
    but is there any way to play the voice notes that i crecored on my laptop?

  32. 32 redbaron101 February 25, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Evan, Use QuickTime player to play the vnote amr files on your laptop.

  33. 33 Sari May 10, 2010 at 6:44 am

    I recorded a long interview on V-notes (28 minutes) and when i tried to send it to myself it asks me if i want to send a shrter version or cancel then only sends the first 2 minutes. Is there anyway i can upload the whole note to my computer? Thanks for any advice on this.


Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 743,017 hits