PS3: Yellow Light Of Death (YLOD)

ripps3

We had some good times together. But its time to bid our farewells. You’ve served me well and I’ll never forget the 2-years we’ve spent together playing Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. I’m sorry you had to endure my game addiction and how I failed to notice the signs you were unwell. YLOD may have taken you away from me, but our memories will live on. Goodbye, my beloved White Playstation 3. Sorry you had to be a YLOD victim. For a better understanding of what YLOD is, continue:

What the hell is Yellow Light Of Death (YLOD)? It basically means your machine is having critical hardware failure. Usually caused by overheating or prolong continuous play. The main power light on your Playstation 3 goes from red, to green when attempting to boot, changing to yellow and then crashing. No matter what you do, the machine just will not boot up. Signs of YLOD is constant crashing of your game, screen freeze while playing and self rebooting of your machine. If it happens, shut down your unit and let it cool off for 1 hour or so before playing again. Bad ventilation is also a main contribution.

8 Responses to “PS3: Yellow Light Of Death (YLOD)”


  1. 1 zirconic June 15, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Get a new one!

  2. 2 BigMacky June 15, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Zirconic

    There are few stages in the mourning process. Initial shock, anguish, despair and eventual acceptance. I am still at the initial shock stage. I need more time to grief. Give me another 5 seconds and I’ll be fine. Thank goodness I have a spare unit around. Now whoever said having 2 Playststion 3 in the house is bonkers?

  3. 3 kushblower July 7, 2009 at 8:18 am

    I had the ylod about a month ago, it was a f—ing heart break. I only had it 13 months so my warranty had just expired. Sony will exchange your ps3 for $149, they say repair or exchange but if you mention the yellow light they will just send you a refurbished one. That is what I got, they did not even try to fix mine. You can watch a ylod repair on youtube by Gilksy and he does show the only known way to fix ylod. Not easy though!

  4. 4 BigMacky July 7, 2009 at 8:59 am

    Kushblower

    Now I find myself hesitant in playing CoD4 on my 2nd unit. Somehow, the fear of my Gun Metal MGS4 PS3 getting struck by YloD is just too much for me to take right now. My YloD unit is still at the shop waiting to be repaired. Until that unit is back, will not be taking chances. It’s been ages since I’ve gamed. Damn!

  5. 5 kushblower July 9, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    BigMacky

    I know what you mean about being hesitant to play COD4 because a ton of people that got the ylod were playing that game. Sony will tell you that some games work the machine gpu harder than others, trying to utilize the praphics i guess, and if a ps3 has this flaw it could make it completely overheat. What model do you have? The 60gb lauch models have the worst rep for ylod and the 40gb models are supposed to have the fewest problems. I opened my ps3 up before I sent it in and got my Battlefield:Bad Company disc out myself. That game definitly makes the fan work at full speed on my refurb ps3 and that kind of worries me too. Who is fixing your system?

  6. 6 iceman5584 July 31, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Its not a lost cause!!!!!I also have the 60 gb launch model and got the ylod on 7/25/09 (very upset)next day went out and bought two items and fixed it myself then returned one of those items so total cost of fixing was $9.99 +tax. it was extremely easy to fix with some patience. all you need is a heat gun that adjustable to between 500 and 700 degrees fair. and some thermal compound (not heat sink compound) thats for xbox 360.watched video on u tube (Cudos to them)and had my system up and running the next day. C.O.D. on men!!!!!!!

  7. 7 BigMacky August 1, 2009 at 6:43 am

    iceman5584

    You are very brave! To attempt to fix it on your own. I’ve sent mine to the shop and it has been fixed. Cost me about $60. But at least its fixed.

  8. 8 djskillz24 May 20, 2010 at 10:30 am

    At what store did you get your ps3 fixed for $60.


Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 742,969 hits