Do Ubuntu?

ubuntu

I got a confession. Before today, I’ve never heard of Ubuntu. Lame, I know. So, I dug a little and found out that Ubuntu is an African word meaning ‘Humanity to others’, or ‘I am what I am because of who we all are’. In a sentence, Ubuntu is your Linux alternative to Windows and Mac operating system – and it’s free. The latest release, Ubuntu 9.10 will be out 29th October 2009. So, what do I think? Well, open source is great and all. But I am all for visual and user experience. Linux has always been too techie for me. Even with Ubuntu, after watching a couple of videos on it on YouTube – still looks kinda, Linux to me. I appreciate the move to support Open Source and all – but unless someone get what HTC’s Sense UI did with Android, I don’t think the masses would care. Sure, they will always be a group of techie who are all for Ubuntu, Windows 7, Snow Leopard and whatnot – but in the end, its just a user experience for a non-techie person that matters. Looking at a YouTube video teaching viewers how to install the Mac Dock on Ubuntu just makes me feel –  sad. If you want to be different, be different.

3 Responses to “Do Ubuntu?”


  1. 1 zzeed October 3, 2009 at 4:20 am

    In Bahasa, U buntu is “You mind-block” haha.

    Actually I’ve taken it for a spin. Pretty neat, but as always with Linux – endless configuration. You can choose and select for one too many things.

  2. 2 BigMacky October 3, 2009 at 7:43 am

    zzeed

    Most of my Call Of Duty kakis are Malay. I’ll try that “Ubuntu” with them when I see them online. Haha. See what they’ll say in return. Or maybe they’ll gang up and hantam me in the game. 🙂

    Back to the software. You nailed it. Too much configuration. Too techie.

  3. 3 seebee0509 January 18, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Worst of all, no game and very complex modification.


Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 742,974 hits